Chimp & See Talk

Red duikers at Green Snowflake

• Snorticus by Snorticus

Just wondering if all the red duikers at Green Snowflake are black-fronted duikers or are some just the red duikers that don't have a dorsal stripe?

Posted

• AnLand by AnLand moderator

I am not an expert here, but as far as I know, the taxonomy of the red duikers here is even in the literature uncertain. They are sometimes identified as Natal or red forest duiker (Cephalophus natalensis) - who are according to IUCN have not really their home range here. Others indicate Harvey's red duiker (Cephalophus harveyi), Peters' duiker (Cephalophus callipygus), or Weyns's duiker (Cephalophus weynsi) - if you compare known distributions for them, you see the uncertainty.

The fur coloration varies a lot, also having individuals with black muzzles suggesting black-fronted duikers (Cephalophus nigrifrons), but it is not clear whether they indeed are. From what I read, it is not clear whether there is one or more species (or just color variations) and which one it is. So most sources I found, discuss this "uncertainty" and talk then furthermore just about "red duikers" in general.

What is clear - and you are right with this - no black dorsal stripe for the red duikers here!

Posted

• Boleyn by Boleyn moderator

@Snorticus maybe this discussion with some answers of WillemFrost may shed some light on the duiker-question but as you can see even the experts are not sure.... 😃

Posted

As I said, there is huge uncertainty. But while Restless Star is clearly within the distribution of black-fronted duikers, Green Snowflake is not. So, we maybe should discuss whether we tag a species we are not sure about. Maybe they are black-fronted duikers, of course.

Posted

Oh I thought we were in the same region as RS because of the classification map although this region is of course quite big.