Chimp & See Talk

Missing right forearm chimp -- Dodge

• Snorticus by Snorticus

ACP0005ckf This chimp is missing the right forearm, I think above the elbow. He/she sniffs and loses balance, camera reaction, sits.

no right forearm

Posted

• Snorticus by Snorticus

ACP0005ckg We also see the chimp here before exit and see the right stub. I wonder how the arm was lost?

Posted

• Quia by Quia moderator

Wow! Now there's a chimp that should be easy to tell if we see him(her? I can't tell..) again!

Interesting that he's carrying around a small rock. He probably can't pick up and use the larger rocks and branches that chimps normally use, but such a small tool is easy to carry around while foraging.

Posted

• ksigler by ksigler moderator

Wow, that's fascinating! I'm no doctor, but I don't see how an animal could lose a limb like that and (without treatment) not bleed to death. Maybe it's a birth defect?

Posted

• jwidness by jwidness moderator

Chimps are sadly sometimes victims of snares -- that would be my guess in this case. Here's a link to a page about snares in Kibale National Park and the efforts to get rid of them: http://sciencenordic.com/chimpanzee-hands-and-feet-amputated-snares (note: some slightly disturbing images for those who might be sensitive)

Posted

• Snorticus by Snorticus

ACP0005czx ACP0005czy Here is the one armed chimp again walking behind 3 other chimps in a somewhat dark clip. The third one seems to hold up a bit and look back at him to catch up. It's clear how much they utilize their arms for speed and balance when walking.

Posted

• Snorticus by Snorticus

That was as horrible as expected @jwidness. Poor chimps. Humans can be such difficult neighbors for animals and plants to deal with. I count our efforts as on the helping side though.

Posted

• Snorticus by Snorticus

ACP0005d05 One armed chimp gets a rock can hear off camera drumming, vocalizations, and tool use.