Chimp & See Talk

Community tools?

• puddock by puddock

I came across a sequence of videos of an adult using a stone to crack (I think) nuts, watched by a juvenile...video Image ACP000fwbu and onwards...when I went back through the sequence, the previous set of short videos showed the same spot and a chimp using the same stone to crack nuts but without an infant watching. Also, the two chimps have been identified by other people here as different chimps (I'm not experienced enough yet to distinguish individuals!)

My question is, if they are different chimps, and the videos are shot on different days, and both chimps were using the same stone, does anyone know if this is common practice, for a particular tool being used by more than one individual? And, if so, does this suggest chance or community use, like going to a village wash house or bakery??

Posted

• MimiA by MimiA scientist, moderator

Hi @puddock

Yes! great observation!

stones are very rare in the rainforest at this site and the stones are certainly commonly re-used.

eg: https://www.researchgate.net/publication/26741979_Tool-composite_reuse_in_wild_chimpanzees_Pan_troglodytes_Archaeologically_invisible_steps_in_the_technological_evolution_of_early_hominins

This may also be of interest: http://www.sciencemag.org/news/2007/02/chimpanzee-stone-age

and: http://www.exploratorium.edu/tv/index.php?program=00000766&project=22

Posted

• puddock by puddock

Thanks so much for that - fascinating! I love the idea that chimps were perhaps using tools before humans and that we might have learned the skill from them! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

You say that stones are rare at this site - all the more remarkable that they have developed as tools then ...

Posted

• AnLand by AnLand moderator

Hi @puddock,