Chimp & See Talk

Sunday training ground: Leopard at Dawn Bird (Shiva - LeoUnclearDB01)

• AnLand by AnLand moderator

To move the leopard discussion forward and also as part of the Sunday training ground 😉 I post here a match proposal that the mods were discussing while thinking about how to organize and visualize the leopard matching. The matching proposal for this leopard is from @jwidness and she provided the annotated screenshots.

These are the only two leopard videos from Dawn Bird and it seems to be the same individual. What do you think?

ACP0007i1o

enter image description here

ACP0007hh4 and ACP0007hh7

Posted

• Batfan by Batfan

Hi,
    It's my first try at matching leopards, so apologies if I'm being a bit simplistic. I did pull off the pictures and annotate them but I'm afraid I can't for the life of me work out how to post them back here. Will keep on experimenting and hopefully manage it eventually.
    To my inexperienced eye, it certainly looks as though it could well be the same leopard. The most obvious feature that looks the same in both shots is the dark mark above its left eye which to me looks a bit like a child's version of a Christmas tree. In the first clip there appears to be a similar mark on its right side, but unfortunately this is off camera in the second clip.
    The other bit that looks the same to me, on both clips, is the bit you've already marked - two elongated commas, facing each other, near to, but a bit further down the nose than the previously mentioned mark.
    The right ear on both clips has quite a pronounced inward curve in the middle of it but I'm not sure if this is a distinguishing feature, or something that is seen on a lot of leopards.
    Now that I'm beginning to get my eye in, will go back to the AV leopards and have another go - and hopefully by then I'll have worked out how to post annotated photos!

Posted

Hi @Batfan,